The COST action EUSpec is proud to announce its first two-week winter school on core level spectroscopies to be held at the Applied Physics Faculty of the University of Nova Gorica, Ajdovščina, Slovenia, from 1st to 11th February, 2016.

School Motivation

The aim of the school is to introduce theoreticians as well as experimentalists to foundations of modern approaches for studying core level spectroscopies from first-principles modeling to the most advanced experimental spectroscopy techniques. The school will bring together experts and early career investigators working on advanced materials science, with a common interest in high level and up-to-date sophisticated spectroscopy experiments and modeling tools. The school will be an extraordinary opportunity for students and young researchers to be introduced to core level spectroscopies and to discuss with worldwide recognized scientists in a friendly environment.

Regular lectures and talks will be followed by hands-on courses on the following three codes: ORCA (quantum chemistry), WIEN2k (full-potential all-electron), and Quantum ESPRESSO (pseudo-potential).

For any information about the school, contact:
Winter school poster: PDF(PDF, 591 kB)

Invited Plenary Speakers

Maria N. Piancastelli (Uppsala University)
Lucia Reining (Ecole Polytechnique)
Frank de Groot (Utrecht University)
Stefano Baroni (SISSA)
Claudio Masciovecchio (Elettra Sincrotrone)
Cécile Hébert (EPFL)
Dimitrios Manganas (MPI für Chemische Energiekonversion)

Invited Speakers and Trainers

Peter Blaha (TU Wien)
Stefano de Gironcoli (SISSA)
Guillaume Radtke (University P. et M. Curie-CNRS)
Iztok Arčon (University of Nova Gorica)
Matteo Amati (Elettra Sincrotrone)
Keisuke Hatada (University of Rennes 1)
Dean Cvetko (University of Ljubljana)
Yaroslav Kvashnin (Uppsala University)

Local Organizers

Layla Martin-Samos (University of Nova Gorica)
Anton Kokalj (Jožef Stefan Institute)
Barbara Ressel (University of Nova Gorica)

University of Nova-Gorica Jožef Stefan Institute Psi-K Network

International Committee

Hubert Ebert (University of Munich)
Didier Sébilleau (University of Rennes 1)
Amélie Juhin (University P. et M. Curie-CNRS)
Frank de Groot (Utrecht University)
Maddalena Pedio (CNR-IOM)
Jarmila Savkova (University of West Bohemia)
Sara Lafuerza (ESRF)
Nicholas Hine (University of Warwick)
Yaroslav Kvashnin (Uppsala University)

Design based on a template downloaded form free website templates